John Lipsky is First Deputy Managing Director of the IMF. He was previously Vice Chairman of the JPMorgan Investment Bank. Lipsky earlier was JPMorgan’s Chief Economist, and Chase Manhattan Bank’s Chief Economist and Director of Research. He spent a decade at the IMF in the 1970s and 1980s, helping to manage the Fund’s exchange rate surveillance procedure and to analyze developments in international capital markets.

Ajai Chopra is a Deputy Director of the IMF’s European Department. He was previously in the Asia and Pacific Department and led the IMF’s program with Korea after its financial crisis. He is currently the mission chief for the United Kingdom and also oversees the European Department’s work on various advanced and emerging market countries.

Antoinette Monsio Sayeh is Director of the IMF’s African Department. She was formerly Minister of Finance in Liberia and previously worked for the World Bank for 17 years. Before joining the Bank, she worked in economic advisory positions in Liberia’s Ministries of Finance and Planning.

Carlo Cottarelli is Director of the IMF’s Fiscal Affairs Department. He was previously with the Research Department of the Bank of Italy. In his IMF career he has been Deputy Director of the European Department and the Policy Development and Review Department. He has written papers on fiscal and monetary policy and edited books on inflation, monetary policy, and exchange rates.

Caroline Atkinson is Director of the IMF’s External Relations Department. During her IMF career, she was also Deputy Director of the Western Hemisphere Department. Outside the Fund, she has held high-level positions at the Bank of England, the U.S. Treasury, and the Council on Foreign Relations. She also worked as a journalist for the Washington Post, the Economist, and the Times of London.

José Viñals is Director of the IMF’s Monetary and Capital Markets Department. He was previously Deputy Governor at the Bank of Spain and served on a range of advisory and policy committees at the central bank and within the European Union, including as Chairman of the European Central Bank’s International Relations Committee. He has published widely on macroeconomics, monetary policy, and financial issues.

Marek Belka is Director of the IMF’s European Department. He was previously Under-Secretary General at the United Nations and Executive Secretary of the UN Economic Commission for Europe.and served as the Prime Minister of Poland from 2004 to 2005 and was also Poland’s Deputy Prime Minister in 1997 and Minister of Finance from 2001 to 2002. He has authored several books and articles dealing with socio-economic issues.

Masood Ahmed is Director of the IMF’s Middle East and Central Asia Department. Between 2003 and 2006 he served as Director General for Policy and International Development at the U.K. government’s Department for International Development. He previously held positions in the IMF and the World Bank, working on areas that included international economic policy relating to debt, aid effectiveness, trade, and global economic prospects. He is a graduate of the London School of Economics.
Nicolás Eyzaguirre is Director of the IMF’s Western Hemisphere Department. He was previously Professor of Economics at the University of Chile. From 2000 to 2006 he was Chile’s Finance Minister. He was an IMF Executive Director between 1998 and 2000, having held several senior positions at the Central Bank of Chile in the period 1990–97.
Reza Moghadam is Director of the IMF’s Strategy, Policy, and Review Department. He was previously Head of the IMF Managing Director’s office. He has worked across a wide range of strategic, policy, country and administrative issues and has held senior positions in the IMF’s Asia and Pacific Department as well as in the IMF’s European Department.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 830 other followers

%d bloggers like this: